Equinox

Also by J.E. Nicassio

from Second Wind Publishing

 

From the Sky

 

http://www.secondwindpublishing.com

 

Equinox

 

By

 

J.E. Nicassio

Scoundrel Books

Published by Second Wind Publishing, LLC.

Kernersville

Scoundrel Books

Second Wind Publishing, LLC

931-B South Main Street, Box 145

Kernersville, NC 27284

This book is a work of fiction. Names, characters, locations and events are either a product of the author’s imagination, fictitious or used fictitiously. Any resemblance to any event, locale or person, living or dead, is purely coincidental.

Copyright 2015 by J.E. Nicassio

All rights reserved, including the right of reproduction in whole or part in any format.

First Scoundrel Books edition published

September, 2015

Scoundrel Books, Running Angel, and all production design are trademarks of Second Wind Publishing, used under license.

For information regarding bulk purchases of this book, digital purchase and special discounts, please contact the publisher at www.secondwindpublishing.com

Cover design by Y. Nikolova

Manufactured in the United States of America

ISBN

                                      Dedicated to

                            To those who seek the Truth.

J.E. Nicassio

Prologue

I’m not sure how I ended up here, but here I was. In a not-so-distant time, I used to be a normal teenage girl, worrying about boys, my looks—you name it—until my life was changed forever by the insipid, dark-haired stranger who saved my life. Lucien Foster was that stranger. He was not your average teenage boy. I guess you could say he was special, to say the least. He had remarkable snowy diamond eyes, which could see into my mind and read every thought. Lucien Foster possessed certain abilities that, if known, would endanger his life: supernatural abilities…. The funny thing about all this was… he was an alien from a planet billions of light-years away from Earth, and I fell in love with him. I know what you’re thinking: this girl is a nutcase. They need to lock her up and throw away the key! However, what I say is true: my boyfriend was not from this world.

At the time all this transpired, the day after the Christmas solstice, I did not think my life could get more complicated than it already was. I had no idea what I was getting myself into that fateful night on a mountainside in New Mexico with my alien (yes, alien) boyfriend. Boy, did things ever go wrong….

 

Chapter One

 

“Help me,” I said with parched lips. My eyes felt like they were glued shut I couldn’t open them. I tried again and slowly images focused in front of me. I found myself huddled deep in the corner of the cabin, shivering. I wrapped my arms tightly around myself to keep warm.  I covered my eyes from the light that bled through the blinds. A man in a uniform was staring straight at me, and I was naked. Haze washed over the cabin as I watched small dust particles drift through the air. What was I doing here and where the hell was here exactly?

      “Where am I?” I asked, not recognizing my raspy voice.

“The ranger station.”

“S-station?”

“Cibola National Park….” he said, kneeling next to me. “What happened to you?”

“Lucien?” I said, catching my breath. Time seemed distorted and dreamlike. How long have I been here?

“What’s your name?”

“My name? I’m Samantha Hunter,” I said, not certain that was even my name.

“Samantha? We’re getting somewhere now,” the park ranger said, giving me a warm smile, calming my nerves slightly.

My mouth was dry; I needed water. I licked my parched lips. “Wat-er,” I said slowly. The ranger went over to the sink and ran some water.

He brought a glass, holding it to my lips. I drank it, almost choking.

“Whoa…not so fast.” My eyes met the ranger’s.

“Lucien?”

“Lucien the guy who did this to you? You kept mumbling his name. God damn sick mother effer.”

“My clothes,” I whispered, not sure of where they were. I wrapped my arms tightly around my knees, shielding my naked body. “Please help me,” I groaned.

The ranger took off his coat, fumbling at first as an icy breeze brushed my skin as his coat wrapped around me. I couldn’t stop my body from trembling. I tried to think, but I couldn’t remember.

Under my nose felt cold and wet. I touched it. Blood…. I tried to stand; when I did, something wet between my legs crawled down. Horrified, a chilling sound came from my lips. It was more blood….

“Aww, no, girl, sit. Man, you’re bleeding. You’re not pregnant, are you? Holy crap! It’s bad.” He searched for his cell phone, checking all his pockets. “911, we need an ambulance at the Cibola Ranger station. A young girl…Samantha Hunter, I think she was raped.”

“No, no, I wasn’t raped.” I managed to stand slowly.

The man grimaced. “Hell, if you weren’t; sit back down. You’re going to hurt yourself more.”

A stabbing cramp ripped through my belly. This wasn’t normal. What’s happening? …. I buckled over.

“You’re as white as a ghost! Geez, why is this happening on my shift? Damn girl. What were you doing out here anyway in the middle of the night?”

“My clothes, where are my clothes?” I looked around the station.

“Whoever did this to you,” said the ranger, “must’ve taken them.”

I cringed as I touched my skin. A thick film of yellow goo, like the goo Lucien’s uncle, Jordan Taylor, used to heal Lucien when he was kidnaped and taken to Area 51. It was right before Thanksgiving; Project Blue came to Trinity High School and took Lucien by force to an underground compound, where he was tortured and was inches away from death’s grasp. The government organization wanted the tracking device that was embedded in Lucien’s leg, and the bastards wanted me. It all began when Lucien Foster saved me when the car I was driving went over an embankment and I died, literally died. Lucien, a survivor from the Roswell crash, the same crash that the government explained was a “weather balloon,” brought me back to life. Six embryos were onboard at the time of the Roswell crash. Jordan Taylor, a scientist, working for the United States government, saved those six embryos from being destroyed. Lucien was one of the six.

“Girl, stay down!” The ranger took hold of me.

“No! I need to go,” I said.

“You aren’t going anywhere except to the hospital,” the ranger said as he hung up his phone. “You be still till they get here, girl. It will be okay.”

I stood again, feeling ill. Barely making it to the garbage can, I heaved, spilling the contents of my stomach until nothing was left but burning bile. I scrambled, searching for… something to wipe the goo from my skin. “I have to… to leave.”

The ranger rushed to a locker and took out a ranger uniform. “Here, girl, put these on. Can you?”

“Uh- huh.” I took the overhauls the ranger handed me; he turned his back while I managed to put them on. My hands trembled as I fastened the buttons. The thought of someone taking my clothes made me want to vomit more. What happened to me? I nervously finished dressing in the oversized khakis as fast as I could.

Once dressed, my eyes shot to the clock on the wall…. “It’s 9:33 in the morning?” I said as I stared aimlessly at the rays of light shining through the blinds.

“That clock hasn’t worked since the night of the eclipse… strange, right? It’s only 6 p.m. in the evening; sun’s just going down.”

I had no recollection of what had happened after I wrapped my arms around Lucien. All I could remember seeing were the brilliant blue lights and something made of silver metal above me.

 

Standard

Leave a Reply

