Chapter Two

Chapter Two

The EMTs arrived and I was taken in an ambulance to Memorial Hospital’s ER. While I waited for my father, a female detective came in and asked me a bunch of questions. I tried to convince her that I couldn’t remember. She didn’t believe me. The detective was beginning to explain to me I needed to be examined when my dad walked in.

“Sammy, baby… I’ll kill him. I swear.” My dad ran to my side. He looked as though he hadn’t slept in days. I was glad to see him but had no idea what I was going to tell him. He would never understand. I had a hard time believing it myself.

“Daddy,” I said, hugging him. “Lucien didn’t do this.” He sat down next to me, taking hold of my hands.

“You weren’t like this when you left the house, Sammy! Someone did this to you!”

I sat up, letting go of his hands, and pulled the sheet tightly against me, somehow shielding myself from their unwanted penetrating glares. I felt defenseless.

“It wasn’t Lucien.” My ears began to ring. It was hard to hear my father’s voice. I started to get restless. He directed his attention to the detective.

“Then where is he? Well?” Dad raised an eyebrow and rubbed the weariness from his eyes. “You know what happened to my daughter?” Dad asked, looking at the detective. The detective pursed her lips tightly. She shook her head.

“And you are?” Dad said.

“I’m Detective Marshall, the lead investigator in your daughter’s disappearance.”

“Well then, are you going to tell me where my daughter’s been for two weeks?”

 “I’ve been gone for two weeks? Are you sure?” I said wincing, trying to make sense of all this.

“Sam,” Dad said. “What happened to you?” he asked with a furrowed brow. When I didn’t answer, he squeezed his eyes closed as if in pain. He was as clueless as I was.

“I don’t know,” I replied, holding my hands to my ears, trying to ignore the ringing that was growing with intensity.

Dad grimaced. “Are you in pain?” He took hold of the bedrail.

“My ears,” I moaned, looking at my dad, pleading with him to relieve my pain. I closed my eyes, wishing it would go away.

“Sammy?” Dad moved in close to me with a puzzled look on his face. “Detective, get the nurse,” my dad said in a frantic voice.

The nurse then came in with Detective Marshall. “I don’t see anything,” the nurse said.

She left and returned with a tall, dark-skinned man.

“My ears… they’re ringing,” I said to the doctor. I opened my eyes facing my dad. “It won’t stop,” I said. “Make it stop,” I pleaded. My dad’s eyes met the doctor’s.

“There seem to be two small puncture wounds right behind your daughter’s ears. Neither MRI nor the CAT scan found anything, so I’m not sure what these are,” the doctor said with a slight accent. They both looked dumbfounded. My dad grimaced and said nothing.

“What the hell is it?” The lines on dad’s face edged with worry.

The doctor frowned, turning to the detective, “I’ve never seen anything like it before.” I’m sure he hasn’t.

“And, unfortunately, your daughter really needs a rape kit,” the detective said.

Dad grimaced, holding his brow. “A rape kit! Sammy, Christ!”

“I wasn’t raped; this is a mistake!” I yelled.

“Your daughter is bleeding. She’s not menstruating; we should do a pregnancy test as well,” the doctor said.

“Sammy, you aren’t pregnant, are you?” Dad shot me a disturbing look. His patience seemed to be starting to dwindle.

“No!”

“Is it a possibility?” said Detective Marshall, staring at me.

“No! I swear I’m not…. I’m not.”

      “At any rate, we can do a pregnancy test to eliminate that in the meantime. I’ll let you two decide about a rape kit.” The doctor said, “You’re going to be fine, Samantha.” The doctor turned and walked out of the room.

“We need to find the person who did this. There may be evidence, and a rape kit will find the DNA we need,” Detective Marshall said. Why is he listening to her? I pleaded with my dad not to believe any of this. She was mistaken. She had to be.

I wish I could remember. The ringing was getting stronger with every moment. The more I tried to remember, the stronger the sound became.

“Sammy, what happened to you…just tell me!” The vein in Dad’s temple pulsated. “I’ll kill him….”

“That’s exactly why I would never tell you anyways!” He raised his brow.

“Sam?” I could tell my father was losing his patience. I didn’t blame him; I wouldn’t believe me either.

“Nothing. Lucien didn’t do anything …. It was my fault.” I tried to explain.

“What was your fault?” the detective asked.

“Lucien didn’t rape me.” I began to get more irritated at this thought.

“Samantha,” Detective Marshall said. “The nurse will be in, and a doctor will do an exam. They’re going to take a sample of your blood and check under your fingernails to see if there were a struggle between you and the person who did this. They’ll check for sexually transmitted diseases. The nurse will collect fluid samples, urine, semen and hair samples. Okay?” She patted my hand. I pulled away.

“Do I have any choice in the matter?” I looked at my dad, then at the detective.

“Samantha, it’s up to your father.” Detective Marshall glared at my Dad. By the looks on their faces, I had to come to grips with their decision.

“Do it. She doesn’t have a say in it. She’s under 18.” My dad stood and walked out. I watched him leave, gritting my teeth.

Detective Marshall smiled. “It’s going to be quick. Everything is going to be fine. Okay?”

She smiled again and left me to my thoughts.

Standard

Leave a Reply

