Chapter Three

Chapter Three

After, the examine, boredom overtook me. I began to count the tiles on the ceiling. I wished I were home in Pittsburgh; I wished none of this had happened. I was just about to get off the bed and look for my phone when Cassiel came rushing in. Cassiel was Lucien’s brother. When I first met him, he hated me. He resented his brother for saving my life. We were not quite friends now but not enemies either.

“Sam!—you’re alive.” Cassiel hurried over to my side, taking my hand. Startled, I looked down at my hand and then my eyes met his. “We’ve been going nuts trying to find out what happened to you. Daniel finally picked up on your whereabouts. For a while, there was nothing.” Daniel was Lucien’s other brother. He could foretell the future and sense people’s locations, sort of like a GPS for humans. Cassiel held one of my hands and touched my cheek with his other. When he touched me, a feeling of déjà vu swept over me. My hand met Cassiel’s, holding it there for a moment, a little bit out of character, making me uncomfortable.

“Cassiel ?”

“You okay?” he said. I tried to block my thoughts. The Foster’s gift of head hopping a nice way of saying they could read minds.

“Maybe I should be asking you the same question.” He let go of my hand.

“I’m okay, I think,” I said. “The nurse was just going to take blood.”

“Yes, I was,” said a nurse, wheeling a girl in not much older than me. “You have a visitor, I see.” She smiled at Cassiel.

She put the girl in the bed next to me, closed the drape, then left and was back in minutes with a cart. She smiled before she pulled the drape shut behind her. A moment later she put a couple vials of blood on the counter next to me.

“You’re next,” she said, looking at me. “Okay, Samantha, I’m going to take some blood.” The nurse took a piece of paper off a clipboard and began writing on it. I can’t have my blood drawn…. It’s not normal. Lucien warned me. Lucien gave me his blood when he saved my life. They can’t find out my blood is no longer human. Cassiel’s eyes met mine as if he read my mind; then he nodded in agreement. Cassiel and Lucien, like their brothers and sister, had the gift of telepathy. They could read minds. The nurse took a rubber band and tied it just above my elbow. She took a needle and jabbed me. The pain took me by surprise. Cassiel’s face wrinkled with nervousness. I jerked as the nurse took the needle out and undid the band.

“All done, the doctor will be with you in a minute,” the nurse said. I kept my eyes on Cassiel, hoping he understood and had a plan.

As the nurse labeled my blood, a bell rang. Another nurse came in.

“The cardiac in room two just coded! We need you!” The nurse who took my blood set the blood in the caddy and scurried out into the hall.

“Did you do that?” I asked Cassiel.

“Don’t worry; he didn’t have a heart attack. The machine just malfunctioned to buy us a little time,” Cassiel said.

My eyes shot to the tray carrying the caddy with the vials of blood. Cassiel took my blood from the caddy and carefully pulled my name off the vial that contained my blood poured it down the sink and turned on the faucet and pitched the vial in the hazardous waste can.

“I’ll be right back.” Cassiel left and came back a few minutes later with a vial of blood.

“Where’d you get that,” I said watching him put my name on the vial of my blood.

“I made a visit to the blood bank.”

“Who’s it is it?”

“Yours now.”

“No one saw you?”

“The attendant did, but he’s not going to remember a thing.”

“You didn’t hurt him did you?” Cassiel smiled.

“Oh course not,” he said raising an eyebrow. I had no idea if he was telling the truth or not. The last thing I wanted to do was get anyone else involved in my messed up life.

Standard

Leave a Reply

